Raleigh Finance

Jul 31 2017

Pennsylvania Car Insurance Info, PA Auto Insurance Quotes #pennsylvania #car #insurance #quote


Pennsylvania Car Insurance Info

General Pennsylvania Insurance Guidelines

Pennsylvania currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability insurance. Proof of insurance must always be accessible in the vehicle. Pennsylvania drivers are required to show their insurance info when requested by an officer.

Minimum Liability Coverage in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania s minimum liability amounts are as follows:

  • $15,000 bodily injury per person
  • $30,000 total bodily injury per accident
  • $5,000 total property damage per accident

These are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts advise protecting your assets by getting more coverage than the state-mandated minimums as these limits tend not to keep pace with the ever-increasing costs of car repairs and medical bills. Most drivers also add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies to cover possible damage to their own cars as well.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

The penalties for driving without insurance in Pennsylvania are:

  • Lapse of insurance for over 31 days may result in suspension of registration for 3 months unless driver can prove vehicle was not operated
  • If stopped for moving violation and operating without insurance, the penalties are as follows:
    • A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
    • A 3-month suspension of vehicle registration
    • A 3-month suspension of license
    • Restoration fees for registration and license
    • Impoundment of vehicle

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some states require drivers to carry UM/UIM, or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects a driver if they get in an accident where the other party does not have auto insurance. Pennsylvania does not require UM/UIM coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

Some states have No-Fault laws where a policy holder will be reimbursed by their insurance company without proof of fault, and restricted in the right to seek reimbursement through the court system for losses caused by other parties. Pennsylvania is a No-Fault state.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Some states have Personal Injury Protection or PIP regulations requiring drivers to carry PIP insurance. This is an extension of auto insurance that covers medical expenses, lost wages and/or other damages. Pennsylvania requires drivers to purchase PIP insurance. The minimum PIP coverage amounts for Pennsylvania are medical benefits coverage of $5,000.

SR-22 Requirements for Pennsylvania

An SR-22 form is a vehicle liability insurance document to be filed with a state s DMV as proof that a driver has the minimum required liability insurance coverage for that state. SR-22 filings are usually only required to reinstate driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction. uninsured auto accident or driving without insurance. Pennsylvania does not require an SR-22 filing for driver s license reinstatement.

Pennsylvania DUI Laws

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the United States with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.08% or higher. All states have driver s licensing laws that state that a licensed driver has given implied consent to a field sobriety test and/or method of determining BAC. This means that a driver is required to take such tests if a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds for administering one, with automatic penalties for refusing to comply. If BAC is determined to be above the legal level a driver will be penalized in various ways. The first DUI offense penalties for Pennsylvania are:

  • For BAC 0.08% – 0.099%:
    • 6-month probation
    • $3,000 fine
    • Alcohol highway safety school
  • BAC 0.10% – 0.159%:
    • 2 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $500 – $5,000 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Possible restricted license available after 60 days
    • Possible ignition interlock required
    • Alcohol highway safety school
  • BAC 0.16% +:
    • 3 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $1,000 – $5,000 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Alcohol highway safety school
    • Possible restricted license available after 60 days
    • Possible ignition interlock required

Additional Information on Insurance for Pennsylvania

For more information, please contact Pennsylvania Department of Insurance: 1-877-881-6388 or visit their website at www.insurance.pa.gov .

Be the best driver in Pennsylvania: Download EverDrive for your iOS or Android phone and start competing with your neighbors and friends!

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *