#georgia #car #insurance, #car #insurance #ga, #
Georgia Car Insurance
Georgia, like nearly all states, requires car owners to carry car insurance to legally drive on the state s road and highways. Proof of insurance can be shown with a standard paper insurance card, or by displaying images on a mobile electronic device.
Minimum Georgia car insurance requirements
Georgia law mandates motorists carry a minimum of:
- Bodily injury liability coverage of 25/50. This stands for limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident.
- Property damage liability coverage of $25,000 per incident.
You will see this written as 25/50/25; it’s considered average coverage. If you have more than average assets to cover, minimum coverage would be regarded as low and inadequate to safeguard you and your assets. Higher liability limits of 50/100/25 or 100/300/50 will give you much better protection. (See our recommendations and what drivers like you buy with Insurance.com’s coverage calculator .)
Uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist are bundled together with minimum limits of 25/50 required to be offered to motorists in Georgia. Uninsured motorist property damage of $25,000 must also be offered; however, you can reject both types (bodily injury and property damage) of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in writing.
Consequences of driving without insurance in Georgia
First offense: Fine between $200 and $1,000 and/or up to a one year in jail. License and registration suspension for 60 days and $200 reinstatement fee to get them back. You must also buy a prepaid six-month auto insurance policy and have an SR-22 filed with the state.
Second or subsequent offense in five years: All the above penalties plus the license and registration suspension is extended to 90 days, and the reinstatement fee is bumped up to $300.
Factors that affect your car insurance rates
There are a variety of risk factors that auto insurance providers take into account when determining a driver s car insurance rate. These are the most common rating factors insurers look at are:
- – Geographical location
- – Gender
- – Age
- – Marital status
- – Driving record
- – Driving experience (years driving)
- – Claims history
- – Credit history
- – Previous insurance coverage
- – Vehicle type
- – Vehicle use
- – Coverage types, limits and deductibles
It s important to comparison shop when looking for a Georgia car insurance policy because insurance company weigh risk factors differently, which can result in car insurance rates differing from a few dollars to hundreds of dollars (or more).
Clean driving record + driving course = discount
Discounts also vary from insurer to insurer, but Georgia law requires that auto insurers provide a good driver discount if certain qualifications are met. To be eligible for a discount of at least 10 percent for three years you must be at least 25 years of age and:
– Have a clean driving record (no violations)
– Have no at-fault accidents in the preceding three years
– Successfully complete an approved defensive driving class
Drivers under 25 can get 10 percent discount for three years if:
– An approved driver education course, which includes classroom and practical training, is completed.
– Their driving record is clean of violations and accidents.
If you re under the age of 18, obtaining a driver s license in Georgia is a three-step process.
Step one: Instructional permit Granted to 15-year-olds who have passed a written exam. Permit holders must have an accompanying licensed passenger that is at least 21-years-old in the car with them at all times.
Step two: Intermediate license (Class D) – Granted to those between 16 and 18 years of age who have held an instructional permit for at least 12 months and passed a driving test. Drivers have passenger and hour restrictions.
Step three: Full license (Class C) Granted to drivers age 18-years-old or older who hold a class D license and have had no major traffic violations in the last 12 months.
Rates are higher for young adults due to statistics showing they are more likely to get into car accidents. Car insurance for teens gives tips on how to save.